The Half-Assed Homesteader

So Fresh and So Clean, Clean July 5, 2011

Filed under: Cleaning,Household — halfasshomesteader @ 10:48 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One habit that really disturbs me, but I can’t seem to break, is store-bought household supplies.  Probably my biggest problem is the plastic packaging that tends to accompany them.  I know I could go to our awesome local grocery New Seasons and buy pretty much all these things in bulk, but frankly, the whole “Tare” thing intimidates me.  This is something I am trying to get around. But I also like the idea of the simplicity of ingredients in homemade supplies, and of course, it’s cheaper.  So I am going to endeavor to make my own for awhile. I won’t promise to do it forever, but I do want to see what is quick, easy, or cheap versus what is totally not worth it.

I am starting with homemade laundry soap, and so far I am really happy with it!  A quick Google came up with this link, and many others with the same basic recipe, so I went for it: http://www.thefamilyhomestead.com/laundrysoap.htm

I already had Borax at home from my experiments with Flubber and from making ant traps, so all I had to get was the washing soda and the Fels Naptha.  They were both easy to find, and all in all I probably spent five bucks, plus buying a bucket that will be useful in other scenarios and a cheese grater.

I started by grating the Fels Naptha, which smelled really fresh and yummy. I bought a new cheese grater for this purpose because I thought it might be difficult to get the soapy taste out of our normal grater, and I’m glad I did – more on this to come.

Added the water ’til it melted, then added the borax and washing soda until they dissolved.  At this point my house started to smell really clean, which is not a bad thing.  Hot water, bucket, more water, and that was it!

I forgot to time it, but based on the fact that I was halfway through Radiolab I’m guessing the whole process took half an hour, and really was ridiculously easy.  I let it set overnight, and then checked on it.  Weirdly, all the websites I used for reference were very clear in stating that it would not be a solid gel, yet mine was.  I’ve done several loads of laundry in it so far though and they have all been clean and fresh smelling, so I am pleased!  I am kind of interested in adding some sort of essential oil to my next batch for fragrance, but I’m stuck trying to figure out what would be a nice gender-neutral, subtle smell.

My one caveat is that I used a stockpot for the soap boiling part, and although we tried mightily, we just can’t get the soapy smell out of it.  So, one of our stockpots has now been designated the “home ec” stockpot.  It’s not a bad sacrifice, though as it was kind of a redundant pot, having been overshadowed by our beautiful and more functional dutch oven.

Probably the best thing about this experience is that, for some reason, Hazel has developed a great sense of pride about the laundry soap.  She wasn’t home when I made it, but I let her stir it later, and ever since then she has been super interested in it.  Guests come over and she wants to show them.  Skype with the grandparents and she says “I wish I could show you our laundry soap.”  She heads back there to give it a stir at least five times a day.  I don’t totally get it, but I love it.

I’m going to attempt to steadily replace all our store-bought household supplies with homemade ones over the next month or so.  Unfortunately, I was going to move on to dish soap next, but I was unable to find a recipe that seemed worthwhile.  I guess I appreciate the increase in purity of the” recipes” that I found, but I just don’t really see how diluting Dr. Bronner’s constitutes a recipe, so until something more interesting catches my eye I will at least commit to asking the New Seasons staff how I go about refilling my plastic bottle with the bulk dish soap.  It’s a step forward.

 

3 Responses to “So Fresh and So Clean, Clean”

  1. carolynintheuk Says:

    2 things:

    1. I hope you don’t mind that I linked to your blog from my blog (which is like 75% less practical than this) and I have really enjoyed reading your entries

    2. Would tea tree oil work as a scent? It’s a natural antiseptic as well so is good for killing bad smells. It is strong though so peppermint or just plain mint might be better. Or something citrussy even. Although if you have cats they probably wouldn’t like that.

    • 1) Of course I don’t mind, thank you! And my blog really is only practical if you want to know how NOT to do something.
      2) I think I’m going with peppermint next time because I bought peppermint oil for the toothpaste I made, then realized I had bought aromatherapy peppermint oil instead of edible peppermint oil. Apparently there is a difference. So I busted out my peppermint oil for baking that expired in January for toothpaste purposes and I am going to repurpose the other stuff for laundry. But I like the tea tree and I think when I run out of peppermint oil, in 2050 because you use about three drops at a time, I will switch to that. Good suggestion, thanks!

  2. Paul Says:

    I was going to say tea tree. it also adds to the cleaning power a little.
    I do have to ask, did you buy any of the supplies in bulk at New Seasons? I’m a Portlander and want to buy borax and washing soda in bulk rather than in those evil packages…


Leave a Reply

